What an honor!

I was recently asked by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture to join a group of women from Minnesota based agriculture and agri-businesses,on a trip to Mexico to speak to women at several universities in Mexico.  This trip is the result of a Memo of Understanding (MOU) that was signed by Minnesota Agriculture Commissioner, Dave Frederickson and Enrique Martinez y Martinez, Mexico’s Agriculture Minister during a trade mission with Minnesota Governor Dayton in August of 2015.  One of the objectives of the MOU is to promote the exchange of information and best practices to foster gender equity and to empower women to seek instruction and certification of labor skills on productive functions related to agricultural production and fisheries chains, and its development.  I am so honored to have been asked to participate in this trip.  

The participants from Minnesota are all women; representing dairy, soy, corn and organic farming.  It is my understanding that a female farmer from each of these sectors, along with a female representative of the corresponding agri-business will be represented.  I am representing Midwest Dairy Association, which is part of the National dairy checkoff program.  A female dairy farmer from Worthington, Minnesota, deb Vander Kooi, will be joining me.  

As many of you know, we’ve had challenging health issues at home since March, with my sweetie, Mark,.  Mark is in full support of me going on this trip, and frankly, he would not have let me stay home.  It is a huge honor to have been asked to participate and this is a wonderful opportunity to be of assistance to the female farmers, university students, business women and government leader with whom we will meet.  Participating in a trip like this, aligns with my personal passion of helping women succeed in business.  

I will be gone July 24-30.  Keep me and deb in your thoughts.  As excited as I am to participate in this trip, I am a little anxious to travel to places I have never even heard of;  I don’t speak the language; and I’m a little nervous about what I can, and cannot eat/drink.  But there is no doubt we are going to have an amazing time and will learn much more about our similarities than our differences.  I look forward to sharing the journey with you through this blog.

Cindy 

Leave a Reply

